The number of states that will authorize patients from out-of-state medical marijuana programs is still relatively small. Many places will either permit patients access to dispensaries and/or permit medical cannabis possession within a reasonable amount. Cannabis laws are constantly changing across the country, and it’s refreshing to see that the list of cannabis-friently states is steadily growing! Let’s take a look at which US states offer reciprocity for guests that are cannabis patients.
Since Alaska legalized cannabis for recreational use, patients from other states do not need to undergo any special processes to obtain their medicine. All adults 21 years old and up can purchase and possess up to 1oz of cannabis at any licensed dispensary .
Visiting MMJ patients that come to Arizona are allowed to bring and use their own medicine, however, they are not permitted to purchase cannabis at any of Arizona’s dispensaries. The possession limits are of 2 ½ ounces of usable cannabis.
As long as patients fill out a visiting patient application and go through the process, they are good to go from a legal standpoint! Please note that if you purchase cannabis from any dispensary in Arkansas, it is heavily advised that you do not cross state lines with it otherwise you risk getting into legal trouble.
With the passage of Proposition 64, recreational and medical cannabis is now available for anyone with 21 or older and a valid government-issued identification. The possession limits are of 28.5 grams of cannabis flower and 5 grams of cannabis concentrate.
Just like in California, tourists are allowed to buy cannabis if they have valid government-issued identification, and are 21 or older. The possession limits are one ounce for non-resident adults.
More information about Colorado’s marijuana program can be found here.
District of Columbia (D.C.)
Washington D.C. only allows reciprocity from certain states that have an equally functioning medical marijuana program. These states include:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
While cannabis is decriminilized and is legal for recreational use, only authorized MMJ patients are able to purchase from dispensaries. Current laws prohibit the retail sale of cannabis in D.C. If your state is not on the aforementioned list, you can still bring your medicine as long as you keep a minimum on your person. You can legally possess up to 2 ounces of cannabis flower for personal use while concentrates and hashish remain illegal. If you visit D.C. make absolute sure you avoid consuming cannabis on federal land and stick to using on only on private property.
More information about DC’s marijuana program can be found here.
While Illinois has enacted medical marijuana laws, they don’t offer reciprocity for out-of-state patients that are seeking to use their medical cards. Fortunately, the state has recently legalized recreational cannabis use and all non-residnets over the age of 21 can carry up to 15g of cannabis flower, 2.5g of hash or concentrates, and up to 250g of THC infused edibles. without facing legal penalties.
In Maine adults that are at least 21 years old can possess and use marijuana. While retail sites were thought to be open to the public by 2018, the deadline seems to have been set back. Nonetheless, adults can still possess up to 2 ½ ounces of cannabis flower and 5g of hashish or concentrates. Medical marijuana patients from certain states can use their patient status to purchase at any of Maine’s medical dispensaries with proper identification. Maine will currently honor patients from the following states:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- Washington, DC.
In Massachusetts all adults over the age of 21 are legally allowed to use cannabis for recreational or medicinal purposes. The possession limits are a maximum of 1 ounce of cannabis flower and 5 grams of cannabis concentrate for adults with valid government-issued identification.
Michigan just recently legalized recreational use! Adults that are at least 21 years old are legally permitted to possess up to 2 ½ ounces of cannabis flower or 15 grams of concentrates. Dispensaries for medical marijuana are accessible throughout the state, however, solid legislation for retail sales is still in development so commercial purchase is currently unavailable. Until retail sites are open, Michigan allows for reciprocity as long as the patient’s residing state also offers reciprocity in their medical marijuana program laws.
In New Hampshire, medical marijuana patients from out of state are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis, but are not permitted to purchase from local dispensaries. The patient must also have the same qualifying medical conditions that are listed in New Hampshire’s medical marijuana program.
New Mexico laws surrounding medical cannabis are currently undergoing mass reform. Regulations are set to be in place by 2020 and suggest that the laws will soon offer reciprocity for out-of-state patients. Stay tuned for more updates on New Mexico!
After Nevada’s legalized cannabis on the recreational level, dispensaries are available to all adults over the age of 21. You can possess up to a maximum of 1 ounce of cannabis flower, 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrate for adults with valid identification and 2 ½ ounces of the cannabis flower for patients with a recommendation.
In the Sooner State, out-of-state medical marijuana patients are able to purchase from dispensaries after applying for a temporary license. The temporary license costs $100, takes about 2 weeks to process, and is valid for 30 days with the ability to be renewed.
Any adult over 21 with valid identification are allowed to purchase cannabis for medicinal or recreational use in Oregon. The possession limits are of one ounce of cannabis flower, 16 ounces of solid infused edibles, 72 ounces of infused liquid, 1 ounce of cannabis concentrates and 16 ounces of cannabis topicals.
While Pennsylvania legalized cannabis for medicinal use, its laws are still fairly strict. Out-of-state medical marijuana patients that were minors used to be able to obtain cannabis in Pennsylvania, however, that law appears to have been recently rescinded.
As long as patients bring their physical medical marijuana card with a government-issued ID card from the same state, visiting patients can have access to dispensaries in Rhode Island. Out-of-state patients are also permitted to possess the same amount of medical marijuana as in-state patients. The possession limits are 2 ½ ounces of usable cannabis.
Since Vermont legalized cannabis for recreational use in 2018, adults over 21 are permitted to carry up to 1 ounce of cannabis. Commercial dispensaries are currently unavailable and only Vermont residents that participate in the state’s MMP are permitted to purchase from state-licensed medical dispensaries.
Washington state legalized cannabis for recreational use. All adults that are at least 21 years old are able to purchase cannabis at retail sites across the state. The law allows for adults to possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis flower, 16 ounces of infused edibles, 72 ounces of infused liquids, or 7 grams of concentrates.
- Zenpype.com is an educational website dedicated to shedding the light on many sides of medical and recreational cannabis. Aside from informing people about cannabis, we also provide cannabis seeds and CBD products. Readers who show their support with purchasing, help us keep doing this. Thank you for your support and for helping us improve!